Food Trip Blog-A-Thon – GAD Restaurant

This is already the third installment of my Food Trip Blog-A-Thon… Wow I am on a roll…. If you like to read the earlier editions, just click here – Tofu House or Ocean Basket.

Earlier today as I am driving with friends along Matar Qadeem Area looking for a good place to eat, we passed by this restaurant and I recalled how great is their shawarma and sandwiches. So we decided that this is it our dinner place!!!

My colleagues always buy shawarma and all sorts of sandwiches in GAD. I do not know the meaning but it feels like the name is missing something like it is very short and straight. I suggest they put in some background to the restaurant why it is named as such. Anyway I know it is famous and people are flocking the restaurant.

GAD – Located in the very busy and lively Matar Qadeem area, Egyptian restaurant, and its specialty is Egyptian – Arabic food (Egyptian=Arabic yes!). I do fancy Arabic food! Yay!

  This restaurant is the pride of the Egyptians, I heard it has several branches, with plenty if dining spaces (with special private place with curtains).

  Parking is a challenge, traffic in Matar Qadeem is a fact, a bit of issue in ordering due to language barrier, staff is not so much attentive and accommodating and I think they have to replace most of their plates.

image1a

This is my Lamb Chops… please don’t burn my chops….

My Lamb Chops is over cooked.. I love lamb chops… even it is burned I will always eat it 🙂

image3a

Grilled Chicken… Too much grilled…

image2a

Some kind of Fried Chicken….. still gonna eat my burned Lamb Chops…

image4a

Some sort of Rice with Tomato soup… Filipinos Love Rice!!!

image5a

A view of the Private Dining Room

I like GAD’s shawarma and sandwiches maybe next time I will just order shawarma and sandwiches….. Their pizza looks good and I heard it taste good also.

Have you been to GAD restaurant? If you fancy Egyptian Food and some burned grills this is the place!

PS: They say GAD’s cheese sticks are very good – well it was not suggested by the staff I would have ordered it for appetizer.

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

